The Board of Trustees 2017, f.l.t.r.: Dr. Johannes Beermann, Dr. Hans-Jörg Stotz, Dr. Fritz Jaeckel, Joerg Geiger (guest), Uli W. Fricke, Dr. Wilhelm Krull, Susanne Burger, Prof. Thorsten Posselt, Peter Tils, Sts a.D. Jürgen Chrobog

The Fraunhofer Center Leipzig’s Board of Trustees

The members of the Board of Trustees advise the Fraunhofer Center for International Management and Knowledge Economy IMW on matters related to the institute's strategic profile and strategy development and promote the research staff's interaction with businesses, policy-makers and society.

The members of the Board of Trustees, which was set up in 2013, are science and economy experts; some are also involved in public institutions. They are appointed for a period of three years. The chairman of the Board of Trustees is Dr. Wilhelm Krull, the Secretary General of the Volkswagen Foundation and Arndt G. Kirchhoff, Kirchhoff Group Iserlohn managing partner and Chairman of the Executive Board of Kirchhoff Holding GmbH & Co., serves as deputy chairman.

During the fifth meeting of the Board of Trustees on 27 June 2017 in Leipzig, two new members were appointed to the Board of Trustees: Susanne Burger from the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research and Dr. Hans-Jörg Stotz, Senior Vice President, IoT Strategy & Innovation at SAP.


The other members of the Board of Trustees are:

Dr. Johannes Beermann, member of the Executive Board of Deutsche Bundesbank and former Minister of the State and Chief of the State Chancellery of the Free State of Saxony,

Dr. Michael Brandkamp, managing director of High-Tech Gründerfonds Management GmbH,

Jürgen Chrobog, former Chairman of the BMW Foundation Herbert Quandt Board of Trustees and former German Federal Foreign Office State Secretary,

Dr. Peter Claussen, owner and managing director of the systemic consultancy firm evolve!,

Uli W. Fricke, co-founder of Triangle Venture Capital Group and CEO of FunderNation GmbH,

Dr. Fritz Jaeckel, former Chief of the State Chancellery of the Free State of Saxony and Saxony's State Minister for National and European Affairs a.D.,

Peter Nothnagel, managing director of Wirtschaftsförderung Sachsen GmbH),

Thomas Sattelberger, MdB, Member of the German Parliament, former Chief Human Resources Officer at Deutsche Telekom AG,

Peter Tils, Central and Eastern Europe CEO at Deutsche Bank AG,


Former member and permanent guest of the Board of Trustees: 

Bruno Wenn, spokesman of the Deutsche Investitions- und Entwicklungsgesellschaft (DEG) Board of Directors.