Fraunhofer IMW´s Board of Trustees

© Fraunhofer IMW
The Board of Trustees, the Institute Management, and the participating researchers of Fraunhofer IMW at the 11th Board Meeting on September 19, 2023 in Leipzig

The members of the Board of Trustees advise Fraunhofer IMW on issues of content and strategic development and promote the networking of scientists in business, politics and society. Chairman of the Board of Trustees is Dr. Wilhelm Krull, Founding Director of The New Institute. Arndt G. Kirchhoff, Chairman of the advisory board KIRCHHOFF Gruppe, acts as Vice Chairman.

Active Members

Dr. Wilhelm Krull, Executive Director The New Institute
Chairman of the Board of Trustees

Arndt G. Kirchhoff, Chairman of the advisory board KIRCHHOFF Gruppe
Vice Chairman of the Board of Trustees

Prof. Dr. Johannes Beermann, Member of the Executive Board of Deutsche Bundesbank, Minister of State and Head of the State Chancellery of Saxony (ret.), Adjunct professor for Public Finance and Public Affairs at Mittweida University

Dr. Michael Brandkamp, General Partner ECBF Management GmbH

Jan Fischer, Managing Director, innosabi GmbH 

Uli W. Fricke, Co-founder of Triangle Venture Capital Group and Managing Director of FunderNation GmbH

Dr. Babett Gläser, Head of the Department for Research, Saxon State Ministry of Science, Culture and Tourism

Thomas Jarzombek, Member of the German Bundestag

Sonja Jost, Dipl.-Ing. and managing director of the startup for green chemistry “DexLeChem“

Marianne Kothé, Head of the Subdepartment for International Financial Policy and Institutions, Bilateral Cooperation and Financing for Development, Federal Ministry of Finance

Manuela Mackert, Senior Managing Director Ankura Consulting Group

Oliver Schenk, Head of the State Chancellery of Saxony and Saxon State Minister for Federal Affairs and Media

Dr. Hans Jörg Stotz, SVP, Digital Strategy & Transformation, Bosch

Dr. Volker Treier, Deputy Chief Executive Officer of the German Chamber of Industry and Commerce DIHK

Dr. Dorothea Wenzel, Member of the Supervisory Board of Fresenius Medical Care AG & Co. KGaA, at H. Lundbeck A/S (Denmark) and at Dentsply Sirona Inc. (USA)


Former Members


Dr. Peter Claussen, owner and managing director of the systemic consultancy evolve!

Thomas Sattelberger, Member of the German Bundestag, former Member of the Board of Management for Human Resources at Deutsche Telekom AG

Susanne Burger, former Head of Directorate-General for European and International Cooperation in Education and Research, Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Jürgen Chrobog, former Chairman of the Board of the BMW Foundation Herbert Quandt and former State Secretary at the Federal Foreign Office.

Dr. Fritz Jaeckel, former Head of the State Chancellery of Saxony and former Saxon Minister of State for Federal and European Affairs, (until Aug. 31, 2018)

Peter Nothnagel, former Managing Director of the Saxony Economic Development Corporation, (until December 31, 2018)

Peter Tils, former CEO of Deutsche Bank AG for Central and Eastern Europe, (until Dec. 31, 2018) 

Bruno Wenn, former Spokesman of the Management Board of the German Investment and Development Company (DEG)