"The integration of digital media in vocational training requires organizational and cultural transformation processes".

DiBBLok on Science Talk: Interview with Anzhela Preissler and Desirée Jörke

In Germany, around 1,500 vocational schools and numerous training companies are faced with the challenge of teaching their trainees cross-professional and job-specific skills. Joint training in vocational schools and training companies, also known as "learning location cooperation," is becoming increasingly digital. New technologies are connecting the learning centers and the actors involved - trainees, trainers, vocational school teachers. At the same time, demands concerning the digital skills of future skilled workers are increasing. Tools for data analysis or working with lightweight robots present training companies, but also vocational schools, with didactic, technical and structural challenges.  The joint project DiBBLok is investigating the digitization of the learning center cooperation between "vocational school" and "training company". The Leipzig research team aims to derive recommendations which may lead to the success of digitization processes in vocational training practice. DiBBLok, short for Diffusing Digital Technologies in Vocational Education and Training through Learning Location Cooperation, has been running since 1 March 2019 and is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

 

In the following interview, Anzhela Preissler, head of the Professional Development and Competence Management Unit, and research fellow, Desirée Jörke, talk about current developments, initial findings and effects of Corona on the project.

Dear Ms. Preissler, dear Ms. Jörke, roughly a year ago the DiBBLok project was launched, which examines the digital change in vocational training at the interface between the training company and vocational school. Looking into the future: What could the ideal digital learning center cooperation of tomorrow look like?

Anzhela Preissler: The ideal digital learning center cooperation of the future spans a network of alliances and organizations that are available to vocational schools and training companies as cooperation partners - for example, inter-company training facilities run by chambers of commerce or extra-company training providers. The understanding of cooperation has developed from a more pragmatic approach to an understanding based on education theory. The individual players not only keep each other informed but also agree on the basic didactic concept and collaborate continuously throughout the entire vocational training period.

Desirée Jörke: In addition, the digital learning center is ideally realized via a web application. This is already possible, for example, for the online training certificate for dual training occupations "BLok". Ideally, all parties involved - from trainees and apprentices to the training management and also vocational school teachers and cooperation partners - will have access to this digital tool, regardless of time and location. Information, messages, teaching content and artifacts can be exchanged via the web application and the individual development status of the trainees can be represented via a development portfolio. A continuous use creates a close interlocking of the learning locations "vocational school" and "training company" and enables the coordinated didactics. The quality of vocational training increases and the prospective skilled workers acquire additional skills that go beyond the actual training occupation.

 

During the Corona pandemic, we are realizing how important the use of digital technologies are in the education system - especially in connecting vocational schools and training companies and the actors involved (trainees, apprentices, teachers). Necessity is certainly the mother of invention, so that digital learning and teaching is basically possible, but what structural challenges are currently becoming apparent in digital vocational training?

Anzhela Preissler: Structurally, the greatest challenges lie in the technical infrastructure of small and medium-sized enterprises, especially in many vocational schools. Often the necessary hardware, software or simply the WIFI is missing. Often the regionally available network coverage is also insufficient. Furthermore, the use of digital tools requires additional time as well as personnel and financial resources. It is often simply not enough to use digital media, while, at the same time, sticking to traditional teaching methods and learning concepts. The roles of the actors involved are changing as a result of digital learning center cooperation. For example from teacher to learning guide, to moderator of the learning process. In addition to technical equipment, further media-didactic training for vocational school teachers and trainers is therefore particularly important. Incentives, such as the assumption of costs by the chamber, could help vocational schools and training companies to get more involved in the "risk" of digital learning.

 

For example, what role do you think (regionally anchored) digital learning and digital platforms will play in the vocational training of the future?

Desirée Jörke: Digital learning platforms or learning (management) systems will certainly be a central aspect of digital vocational training in the future. As a trainee, I will be able to access the content of vocational training no matter the time and location, depending on my learning status and learning pace. Different media - such as text, image, audio and video material - can be combined with each other. This increases the attractiveness of the training - and it adapts more closely to the needs of the users.

 

How does the current Covid-19 situation affect the research project DiBBLok and your further research work?

Desirée Jörke: Due to contact restrictions, it is necessary to adapt our field research methods. We adapt to the needs of the training companies we want to investigate - and conduct interviews online, for example, or offer workshops only in small groups. In this way, we investigate which factors promote or inhibit the digital learning center at the organizational and individual level. Our thesis is that the respective management system and related processes have an influence on the implementation of the digital learning center, as they are the frame of reference for changes in the respective educational location.

Anzhela Preissler: In principle, we are only just beginning to actually make full use of the advantages of digital media in vocational training. Dual vocational training is an internationally recognized system that has grown over decades and has proven routines based on classroom practice. Digital media offer medium-sized companies in particular new opportunities for exchange, networking and individual training. In a further research project - the "Zentrum digitale Arbeit" (Centre for Digital Work) - in cooperation with the Projektträger Arbeit und Leben Sachsen e. V. (Project Management Agency Work and Life Saxony), Leipzig University, the HTWK Leipzig and the ATB Arbeit, Technik und Bildung gGmbH (ATB Work, Technology and Education), we are bundling research and experience knowledge on digital and demographic change in the labor market in a digital knowledge pool.

 

What are the next steps in the DiBBLok project?

Desirée Jörke: We are just starting the qualitative case studies to examine our research theses on macro, meso and micro levels. For this purpose we have identified training companies that are considered "best practice" in terms of their degree of digitization. Basically, we assume that the use of digital media supports the learning and exchange processes of learning center cooperation to a large extent but does not replace personal communication and cooperation. For the actors involved, digital teaching and learning means getting involved in new ways of networking, building basic digital skills and motivating them to become actively involved in the cooperation. We reflect and evaluate these assumptions in the following interviews. We are also beginning to publish our research results to date.  

Project partners

© TUD (https://tu-dresden.de)
First row, from left to right: Carmen Neuburg (TUD), Dr. Lars Schlenker (TUD), Desireé Jörke (Fraunhofer IMW), Anzhela Preissler (Fraunhofer IMW). Second row: Nicos Lentzsch (FH Dresden), Kristina Barczik (TUD), Andrea Augustin (TUD), Andreas Ueberschaer (BPS GmbH). Third row: Vincent Schiller (FH Dresden), Prof. Dr. Marius Brade (FH Dresden), Dr. Helge Fischer (TU Dresden)

News

Second milestone meeting in the project DiBBLoK

On March 13th, 2020, the second milestone meeting in the research project "Diffusion of Digital Technologies in Vocational Education and Training through Learning Place Cooperation (DiBBLoK)" took place in the lecture hall center of the Technical University of Dresden.

DiBBLok

Diffusing Digital Technologies in Vocational Education and Training through Learning Location Cooperation

Unit, Professional Development and Competence Management

»Die Integration digitaler Medien in die berufliche Ausbildung erfordert organisationale und kulturelle Transformationsprozesse.«

DiBBLok im Science Talk: Interview mit Anzhela Preissler und Desirée Jörke

In Deutschland stehen rund 1.500 Berufsschulen und zahlreiche Ausbildungsbetriebe vor der Herausforderung, ihren Auszubildenden berufsübergreifende und berufsspezifische Kompetenzen zu vermitteln. Die gemeinsame Ausbildung in Berufsschule und Ausbildungsbetrieb, auch als Lernortkooperation bezeichnet, wird zunehmend digital. Neue Technologien vernetzen die Lernorte und beteiligten Akteure – Auszubildende, Ausbildende, Berufsschullehrerinnen und -lehrer. Gleichzeitig steigen die Anforderungen an die digitalen Kompetenzen der zukünftigen Fachkräfte. Tools zur Datenanalyse oder das Arbeiten mit Leichtbaurobotern stellen Ausbildungsbetriebe, aber auch Berufsschulen vor didaktische, fachliche und strukturelle Herausforderungen. Das Verbundprojekt DiBBLok untersucht die Digitalisierung der Lernortkooperation »Berufsschule« und »Ausbildungsbetrieb«. Das Leipziger Forschungsteam will Empfehlungen zum Gelingen von Digitalisierungsprozessen in der beruflichen Bildungspraxis ableiten. DiBBLok, kurz für »Diffusion digitaler Technologien in der beruflichen Bildung durch Lernortkooperation«, läuft seit dem 1. März 2019 und wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert.

Im Interview sprechen Anzhela Preissler, Leiterin der Gruppe Qualifizierungs- und Kompetenzmanagement, und Desirée Jörke, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin, über aktuelle Entwicklungen, erste Erkenntnisse und Auswirkungen von Corona auf das Projekt.

Liebe Frau Preissler, liebe Frau Jörke, vor etwa einem Jahr ist das Projekt DiBBLok gestartet, das den digitalen Wandel in der Berufsausbildung an der Schnittstelle Ausbildungsbetrieb und Berufsschule untersucht. Ein Blick in die Zukunft: Wie könnte die ideale, digitale Lernortkooperation von Morgen aussehen?

Anzhela Preissler: Die ideale, digitale Lernortkooperation der Zukunft spannt ein Netzwerk zu Verbünden und Organisationen, die Berufsschulen und Ausbildungsbetrieben als Kooperationspartner zur Verfügung stehen – zum Beispiel zu überbetrieblichen Bildungseinrichtungen der Kammern oder außerbetrieblichen Bildungsanbietern. Das Kooperationsverständnis hat sich dabei von einem eher pragmatischen hin zu einem bildungstheoretisch begründeten Verständnis entwickelt: Die einzelnen Akteure informieren sich nicht nur gegenseitig, sondern stimmen sich zum didaktischen Grundkonzept ab und kollaborieren kontinuierlich über den gesamten Zeitraum der Berufsausbildung hinweg.

Desirée Jörke: Die digitale Lernortkooperation von Morgen wird zudem idealerweise über eine Webanwendung realisiert. Schon jetzt ist das zum Beispiel über den Online-Ausbildungsnachweis für duale Ausbildungsberufe »BLok« möglich. Auf das digitale Tool haben alle Beteiligten, angefangen von den Auszubildenden über die Ausbildenden bis hin zur Ausbildungsleitung, aber auch Berufsschullehrkräfte und Kooperationspartner zeit- und ortsunabhängig Zugriff. Über die Webanwendung können Informationen, Nachrichten, Lehrinhalte und Artefakte ausgetauscht und der individuelle Entwicklungstand der Auszubildenden über ein Entwicklungsportfolio abgebildet werden. Eine kontinuierliche Nutzung schafft eine enge Verzahnung der Lernorte »Berufsschule« und »Ausbildungsbetrieb« und ermöglicht die aufeinander abgestimmte Didaktik. Die Qualität der beruflichen Ausbildung steigt und die angehenden Fachkräfte erwerben zusätzliche Kompetenzen, die über den eigentlichen Ausbildungsberuf hinausgehen.

 

Während der Corona-Pandemie merken wir, wie wichtig der Einsatz digitaler Technologien im Bildungswesen ist – gerade bei der Vernetzung von Berufsschule und Ausbildungsbetrieb und den beteiligten Akteuren (Auszubildende, Ausbildende, Lehrkräfte). Not macht sicher erfinderisch, so dass digitales Lernen und Lehren grundsätzlich möglich ist, doch welche strukturellen Herausforderungen werden im Moment in der digitalen Berufsausbildung offensichtlich?

Anzhela Preissler: Strukturell liegen die größten Herausforderungen in der technischen Infrastruktur kleiner und mittelständischer Betriebe, insbesondere auch vieler Berufsschulen. Oft fehlen die notwendige Hard- und Software oder simpel das W-LAN. Häufig ist auch die regional verfügbare Netzabdeckung ungenügend. Zudem braucht der Einsatz digitaler Tools zusätzliche zeitliche, personelle und finanzielle Ressourcen. Es reicht häufig nicht, einfach digitale Medien einzusetzen, aber gleichzeitig an traditionellen Unterrichtsformen und Lernkonzepten festzuhalten. Die Rollen der beteiligten Akteurinnen und Akteure verändern sich durch eine digitale Lernortkooperation, beispielsweise vom Lehrenden hin zum Lernbegleiter, zum Moderator des Lernprozesses. Neben der technischen Ausstattung, ist deshalb die mediendidaktische Weiterbildung von Berufsschullehrenden und Ausbildenden besonders wichtig. Anreize, zum Beispiel eine Kostenübernahme durch die Kammer, könnten dabei helfen, dass sich Berufsschulen und Ausbildungsbetriebe stärker auf das »Wagnis« digitaler Lernort einlassen.

 

Welche Rolle werden aus Ihrer Sicht zum Beispiel (regional verankerte), digitale Lern- und Plattformen in der beruflichen Ausbildung der Zukunft spielen?

Desirée Jörke: Digitale Lernplattformen oder Lern(management)systeme sind zukünftig sicher ein zentraler Aspekt der digitalen Berufsausbildung. Als Auszubildende bzw. als Auszubildender kann ich dadurch zeit- und ortsunabhängig, je nach Lernstand und Lerntempo, auf die Inhalte der Berufsausbildung zugreifen. Unterschiedliche Medien – etwa Text-, Bild-, Audio- und Videomaterial – können miteinander kombiniert werden. Dadurch steigt die Attraktivität der Ausbildung – und sie passt sich stärker dem Bedarf der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer an.

 

Wie wirkt sich die aktuelle Situation auf das Forschungsprojekt DiBBLok und Ihre weitere Forschungsarbeit aus?

Desirée Jörke: Durch die Kontaktbeschränkungen ist es notwendig, dass wir unsere Feldforschungsmethoden anpassen. Wir stellen uns auf die Bedürfnisse der Ausbildungsbetriebe, die wir untersuchen möchten, ein – und führen Interviews zum Beispiel online durch oder bieten Workshops nur in Kleingruppen an. Damit untersuchen wir, welche Faktoren den digitalen Lernort auf der organisationalen und der individuellen Ebene treiben oder hemmen. Unsere These ist es, dass die jeweiligen organisationalen Rahmenbedingungen und die damit verbundenen Prozesse Einfluss auf die Umsetzung des digitalen Lernortes haben, da sie der Bezugsrahmen für Veränderungen im jeweiligen Bildungsort sind.

Anzhela Preissler: Grundsätzlich stehen wir erst am Anfang, die Vorteile der digitalen Medien in der Berufsausbildung tatsächlich auszuschöpfen. Die duale Berufsausbildung ist ein jahrzehntelang gewachsenes und international anerkanntes System, das sich seiner bewährten – auf Präsenzpraxen basierenden – Routinen bewusst ist. Digitale Medien bieten insbesondere Mittelständlern neue Möglichkeiten des Austauschs, der Vernetzung und der individuellen Weiterbildung. In einem weiteren Forschungsprojekt – dem »Zentrum digitale Arbeit« – bündeln wir dafür im Verbund mit dem Projektträger Arbeit und Leben Sachsen e. V., der Universität Leipzig, der HTWK und der ATB Arbeit, Technik und Bildung gGmbH Forschungs- und Erfahrungswissen zum digitalen und demographischen Wandel des Arbeitsmarkts in einem digitalen Wissenspool.

 

Was sind die nächsten Schritte im Projekt DiBBLok?

Desirée Jörke: Wir beginnen gerade die qualitativen Fallstudien, um auf Makro-, Meso- und Mikroebene unsere Forschungsthesen zu untersuchen. Dafür haben wir Ausbildungsbetriebe identifiziert, die hinsichtlich ihres Digitalisierungsgrades als »Best Practice« gelten. Grundsätzlich gehen wir davon aus, dass der Einsatz digitaler Medien die Lern- und Austauschprozesse der Lernortkooperation maßgeblich unterstützt, aber die persönliche Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit nicht ersetzt. Für die beteiligten Akteurinnen und Akteure bedeutet digitales Lehren und Lernen, sich auf neue Wege der Vernetzung einzulassen, digitale Grundkompetenzen aufzubauen und die Motivation, sich aktiv in die Kooperation einzubringen. Diese Annahmen spiegeln und evaluieren wir in den jetzt folgenden Interviews. Außerdem beginnen wir damit, unsere bisherigen Forschungsergebnisse zu publizieren.  

DiBBLok - Diffusion digitaler Technologien in der beruflichen Bildung durch Lernortkooperation

Gruppe Qualifizierungs- und Kompetenzmanagement